Getting Your Michigan Drivers License Reinstated After A DUI
If your license has been suspended because you refused to take a test to determine your blood alcohol content, or your license has been revoked due to a second or subsequent drunk driving offense, it could have a serious impact on your ability to get to work or fulfill family obligations. Regardless of which situation you find yourself in, it is imperative that you seek the advice of an experienced Grand Rapids drivers license suspension lawyer.
At the law office of Jason L. Jansma, PLC, we provide strong defense against all types of drunk driving charges to clients across western Michigan. When your driving privileges are on the line, we will also represent you at your administrative hearing and do everything in our power to keep your right to drive intact. Attorney Jansma has extensive experience in implied consent and drivers license restoration hearings.
Michigan Implied Consent Hearings
Implied consent is a provision in the law stating that, by holding a Michigan drivers license, you agree to abide by all the laws, which includes submitting to blood alcohol tests if there is suspicion of operating a vehicle while intoxicated. If you refuse to submit to the test, your license will be suspended for one year.
You have the opportunity to challenge the suspension at a Secretary of State hearing before an administrative law judge. You only have 14 days to request a hearing. If you miss the deadline, the suspension will take effect and you will have no recourse. At your hearing, we will present the strongest possible case to beat the suspension. If we are successful, your driving privileges will remain intact. If not, we can still pursue a hardship license after 30 days.
Driver License Restoration Hearings
For people who have been convicted of a second OWI offense, your license could be revoked for a minimum of one year. In order to have your license restored, you will need to seek an administrative hearing through the Secretary of State's Office Driver Assessment and Appeal Division. People seeking license restoration are entitled to one hearing per year.
In these hearings, the burden of proof is on you with regard to having any alcohol abuse issues under control and that you will not drink and drive again. When you hire our firm, we will present the most compelling possible argument to support the issuing of a new license for you. We will work with you to understand what documentation will be needed and what information will need to be collected in preparation for the hearing.
Call for a Free Initial Consultation
Contact our office today to learn more about how we can help to protect your driving privileges. We are available during regular business hours and by appointment evenings and weekends. You can reach us by phone at 616-581-7406 (Free Office Consultation), toll free at 877-378-5541 or via e-mail. We accept all major credit cards. Flat fees are charged for some services.